Skip navigation

I hadn’t been shooting for over a month-and-a-half.  The last time I’d taken pictures, I was in small-town Czech Republic.  And now I found myself back in the US:  Dallas, the third — and biggest — city to which I’d moved in six months.  But when I saw the many winter-bare trees growing throughout Moss Park,  just two blocks from my new apartment, I knew it was time to take out the cameras.

The snow from the second winter storm of the season was almost all melted.  There was no lack of sun, but it was cold, with a wind that whipped you raw if you moved too fast.  I was on my bicycle, a bright blue Wal-Mart Schwinn, wheeling down the paved trail that cut through the park, my two cameras clanking around my neck.  It was late afternoon, close to the magic hour so prized by photographers, when direct light from the sun turns soft and diffuse.  I met a few bicyclists and joggers along the way who were also braving the chill, but for the most part I was alone to bear witness to the day’s end.

Of course, I couldn’t stay on the trail.  Those trees were inviting me to take a look and get to know them better:  from the top down and the ground up; from close by and at different angles through different lenses.  It would have been rude to just observe them from a polite distance and then be on my way.  So I rode across wet grass and through patches of muddy earth to commune with them.

To me, they seemed more beautiful naked than if they’d had leaves to cover them in green.  It was like I was looking at them stripped down to the gray-brown skeletons that spring growth would hide.  I was glad I had loaded my cameras with black and white film.  Color would have distracted from the graceful forms I was seeing and would have made the trees, in their monochrome simplicity, seem ugly.  And that wouldn’t have been fair. In elegant surrender to rhythms greater than themselves,  the trees were only hibernating, holding in the energy that would make them more colorful when warmth returned.

4 Comments

  1. La foto es estupenda y el texto también. Ojalá publiques muchos más.

  2. Beautiful picture. Even better is how you ‘painted the picture’ of how this snapshot came about. Very, very nice.

  3. Beautiful picture and very nice read to go along with it!

  4. Fantastic picture… makes you want to spend some time in that park 🙂

    Enhorabuena 🙂


Leave a Reply

